Cover Story

Court Stops 'Peace Committee' From Mounting Roadblocks, Extorting Motorists In Donga

A Taraba state High court sitting in Wukari, has ordered that all roadblocks mounted by the Donga Peace Central Committee, be removed and i...

See Final Figures For Lau Constituency As Recount Ballots Favor APC



The Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Jalingo has completed sorting and re-counting of valid votes used for Lau state constituency in the 2023 general elections.


The All Progressive Congress APC  scored the highest with 8,507 votes in the open counting as announced by the prosecution witnessed  at the tribunal.

 The suit instituted by  the APC candidate for Lau State Constituency in the last general elections Emmanuel George is challenging the emergence of Nuhu Akila of PDP as winner of the election .hence the application for order from the court for sorting and recounting of valid ballot papers from 8 wards in the constituency which was granted by the tribunal.

After the recounting exercise at the tribunal, the prosecution witnessed one was asked by the presiding judge to mount the witnessed box for announcement of the vote scored by each political party.

  Oche Joseph, lawyer to the respondent had during the cross examination   challenge the incoherence in the court order and the recounting process and explanation on why some of the ballot papers where declared invalid.

Bashir Mohammed Chalawa the counsel to INEC maintain that APC scored the highest votes in the Lau state constituency as openly recounted before the election petition tribunal


1. ABBARE 1 APC 898 PDP 364 NNPP 740



3. DONADDA APC 824 PDP 623 NNPP 578


4. GARIN D0G0 APC 1540 PDP 540 NNPP 1104


5. MAYOLOPE APC 643 PDP 1183 NNPP 602


6. Lau I APC 1461 PDP 766 NNPP 428


7. Lau 11 APC 204 PDP 326 NNPP 27


8. ABBARE 11 APC 575 PDP 389 NNPP 293


9. Kunini APC 1266 PDP 1371 NNPP 156


10. JIMLARI APC 547 PDP 968 NNPP 1449



APC 8,507 PDP 7,112 NNPP 6,205 


No comments