Cover Story

Climate Change: How 10 Million Trees Will Transform Taraba

A transformative movement is underway in Taraba State, driven by Governor Agbu Kefas' visionary 10 million economic tree planting progra...

Female Aspirant, Mike Dio Others Win Taraba PDP’s Assembly Tickets

 A female aspirant is among who emerged victorious at the People's Democratic Party, PDP, primary elections   to produce candidates who will fly the party tickets for the state House of Assembly in Taraba state.


Varonica Alhassan was declared as the sole winner of Bali one constituency  after pulling 10 votes out of twenty delegates who participated during the primary election.


Speaking after the election, Varonica Alhassan thanked God and governor Darius Dickson Ishaku for the opportunity to represent the party at the forthcoming general elections.


She also thanked others aspirants who contested alongside with her and sought for their cooperation to win in the general elections.


Taraba Truth and Fact gathered that the election was conducted peacefully in most of the constituencies across the sixteen Local government areas of Taraba state while in other places like Gasol II, it took the security personnel on ground tough time to dispel the political thugs who invaded the venue of the election with dangerous weapons. 


So far, the following people have been declared winners by the returning officers of their various constituencies after gaining the majority votes of the delegates through the indirect primary adopted by the PDP: Jon. Veronica Alhassan - Bali I, Hon. Abdullahi Hamman Adama -Bali II, Hon Muhammad Umar Gayam - Gashaka constituency, Hon. Abbas Umar Ƙaura - Gassol I,    Hon. Dr. Ahmad Dawud Jedua - Gembu constituency, Hon. Dr. Tafarki Agbadu - Kurmi Constituency,  Hon. Emmanuel Bongo - Mbamnga constituency, and Hon. Nelson C Len - Nguroje constituency, all from Taraba Central zone.


In the Northern zone, we have Hon. Abdulnaseer Bobboji- Jalingo I, 

Hon. Aminu Aminu Umar Jalingo - Jalingo II, Hon. Dr. Mike Dio Jen, - Karim Lamido I, Hon. Bobbo Bello Bendu - Karim Lamido II, Hon. Nuhu Akila - Lau constituency, Muhammad Ɗanladi Gwampo - Yorro constituency and Hon. John Kizito Bonzena- Zing constituency.


From the Southern zone, Hon. Lawan Abdulkarim- Ibbi constituency, Hon. Elisha Rikwentishe - Ussa constituency, Hon. Tanko Abubakar- Takum I, Hon. John Lamba - Takum II, Hon. Jethro Yakubu- Wukari I and Hon. Josiah Angye - Wukari II constituency were declared winners.


However, results from Gassol II on the central zone, Ardo-Kola constituency in the Northern zone and Donga constituency on the Southern zone have not been declared yet as of the time of filing in this report.


Meanwhile, the PDP primary election in Gassol II is rescheduled for Monday, 23rd of May, 2022

No comments